About

thélème is a professional ensemble that specializes in the performance of early music. The ensemble was founded in 2013 by its Artistic Director, Jean-Christophe Groffe, and the ensemble is largely made up of musicians who graduated from the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis.
The name of the ensemble refers to the utopia described by François Rabelais at the end of his novel Gargantua. Thélème is a hexagonal five-story Renaissance chateau built with precious materials. At Thélème, there is no outer wall, no clock. What is the point of worrying what time it is when we are not dependent on time, when we decide ourselves when we will get up, eat, work, or dedicate ourselves to the pleasure of conversation? The name alone says it all: the Greek “thelo” means “I want”, so thélème can be translated as “free will”.
While keeping the voice as the center of its work, thélème examines the relationships between the musician and his audience, offering staged performances as well as the more usual concert forms. thélème collaborates with singers, instrumentalists, composers, authors, dancers, choreographers, comedians, directors, scholars, and creators of all types who identify with the Rabelaisian maxim: “Do what you will”.
thélème has been invited to numerous renowned festivals: Festtage Alte Musik  Basel, St. Galler Festspiele, Schubertiade von Espace 2, Festival Rümlingen, Forum Alte Musik Zürich, Top Klassik Züricher Oberland, etc.
thélème also works with other reputed ensembles and artists, for example the ensembles Musica Fiorita and SoloVoices, the saxophone quartet XASAX, the Tanzkompanie du Théâtre de St. Gall, the pianist Rani Orenstein, the organist Olivier Wyrwas, and the mezzo-soprano Solenn’ Lavanant-Linke.
Between now and the end of 2018, the ensemble thélème is recording three CDs of the music of Clément Janequin, to appear on the label Coviello Classics.
© thélème 2016
translation: Zoe Saunders

 

thélème

 

Annie Dufresne, Soprano
Julien Freymuth, Altus
Lior Leibovici, Tenor
Ivo Haun, Tenor
Breno Quinderé, Baritone
Jean-Christophe Groffe, Bass and Artistic Director
Ziv Braha, Lute
 

Guests
Dan Dunkelblum
Daniel Issa
Solenn' Lavanant-Linke
Roman Melish
Rani Orenstein
Yukie Sato

Porträt

thélème ist ein professionelles Ensemble, das sich auf die Interpretation Alter Musik spezialisiert hat. Das Ensemble wurde 2013 von seinem künstlerischen Leiter Jean-Christophe Groffe gegründet und besteht mehrheitlich aus Absolventen der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis.
Der Name des Ensembles gründet auf der von François Rabelais am Ende seines Romans Gargantua beschriebenen Utopie, der Abtei Thélème. Thélème ist ein hexagonales Renaissanceschloss mit fünf Etagen, mit wertvollen Materialien gebaut. thélème hat keine Umfassungsmauer, keine Uhren. Weshalb sollte man sich um die Zeit scheren, wenn man nicht von der Zeit abhängig ist, wenn man selbst entscheidet, wann man aufstehen, essen, arbeiten oder sich der Freude der Konversation widmen möchte? Der Name selbst ist Programm: «thelo» kommt aus dem Griechischen und bedeutet  «ich will», so kann man thélème mit «freier Wille» übersetzen.
Das Ensemble thélème stellt die Stimme ins Zentrum seiner Arbeit und hinterfragt im szenischen Dialog die Beziehung zwischen Sänger und Publikum. thélème verwendet Alte Musik als Rohmaterial zur Reflexion über die Rolle der Musiker in der Gesellschaft. thélème möchte mit anderen Sängern, Instrumentalisten, Komponisten, Autoren, Tänzern, Choreographen, Schauspielern, Regisseuren, Forschern und Kreativen in jeglichen Bereichen zusammenwirken, ganz dem Leitsatz von Rabelais getreu: «Tu, was du willst».
In den letzten Saisons wurde thélème von namhaften Festivals und Konzertreihen eingeladen: Festtage Alte Musik Basel, St.Galler Festspiele, Schubertiade von Espace 2, Festival Rümlingen, Forum Alte Musik Zürich, Top Klassik Zürcher Oberland, u.a.
thélème tritt auch mit weiteren prominenten Ensembles und Künstlern auf, darunter dem Ensemble Musica Fiorita, dem Vokalensemble SoloVoices, dem Saxophonquartett XASAX, der Tanzkompanie des Theaters St.Gallen, dem Pianisten Rani Orenstein, dem Organisten Olivier Wyrwas und der Mezzosopranistin Solenn’ Lavanant-Linke.
Das Ensemble thélème plant bis Ende 2018 drei CD-Aufnahmen um den Komponisten Clément Janequin, die beim Label Coviello Classics erscheinen werden.
©thélème, 2016

thélème

Annie Dufresne, Soprano
Julien Freymuth, Altus
Lior Leibovici, Tenor
Ivo Haun, Tenor
Breno Quinderé, Baryton
Jean-Christophe Groffe, Bass und Künstlerische Leitung
Ziv Braha, Laute

Regelmässige Gäste

Dan Dunkelblum
Daniel Issa
Solenn' Lavanant-Linke
Roman Melish
Rani Orenstein
Yukie Sato



Wir danken für die finanzielle Unterstützung
unserer Saison 2016-17: